spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts complete second spacewalk, but spacesuit suffers water leak
Posted: Thu, Feb 26, 2015, 8:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2015 February 25 (NASA) Two NASA astronauts successfully completed the second in a series of three spacewalks outside the International Space Station Wednesday, but one astronaut reported a small amount of water in his helmet after the EVA ended. Barry Wilmore and Terry Virts completed a 6-hour, 43-minute spacewalk at 1:34 pm EST (1834 GMT) Wednesday, completing all the scheduled tasks for the EVA. That work included completing the rigging of cables outside the station and preparing the Tranquility module for the installation of docking ports for commercial crew vehicles. The two also lubricated the Canadarm2 robotic arm. At the end of the spacewalk, Virts reported a small amount of water inside his helmet that appeared to come from a leak from the suit's cooling system. NASA said Virts was never in any danger, but an investigation into the leak could postpone the next spacewalk, planned for Sunday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list