spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dawn enters orbit around Ceres
Posted: Sat, Mar 7, 2015, 9:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
Dawn spacecraft illustration (UCLA/W. Hartman) NASA's Dawn spacecraft entered orbit around the dwarf planet Ceres as expected on Friday. Dawn was captured by Ceres' gravity at 7:39 am EST (1239 GMT) Friday, at an altitude of 61,000 kilometers. Dawn will gradually move into its initial science orbit at an altitude of 13,500 kilometers later by mid-April; in later phases of the mission, it will orbit Ceres as close as several hundred kilometers above its surface. Dawn launched in 2007 on a mission to study two of the largest objects in the main asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter. Dawn orbited the large asteroid Vesta from July 2011 to September 2012 before departing for Ceres, formally designated a dwarf planet by the IAU in 2006.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list