spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Mar 19, 2015, 11:54 AM ET (1554 GMT)
Proton M launch of Express-AM7 (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched a Russian communications satellite on Thursday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 6:05 pm EDT Wednesday (2205 GMT Wednesday, 4:05 am local time Thursday). The rocket's Breeze M upper stage released the Express-AM7 satellite into geostationary transfer orbit nine hours and 13 minutes later. The spacecraft, build by Airbus Defence and Space for the Russian Satellite Communications Company (RSCC), weighed 5,700 kilograms at launch. RSCC will use the spacecraft to provide communications services from 40 degrees east in GEO.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 24
Tory Bruno, the Other Rocket Man
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Eugene Parker’s Journey to the Sun
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Bezos offers moon to space agency
InnovationAus.com — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list