spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches X-37B on fourth mission
Posted: Thu, May 21, 2015, 8:50 PM ET (0050 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of X-37B on 4th mission, May 2015 (ULA) An Atlas 5 placed the Air Force's X-37B and a number of smallsat secondary payloads into orbit on Wednesday. The Atlas 5 501 lifted off at 11:05 am EDT (1505 GMT) from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at the beginning of a ten-minute launch window. The rocket's primary payload on a mission designated AFSPC-5 was the X-37B spaceplane, beginning the vehicle's fourth mission in Earth orbit. The Air Force has disclosed few details about the X-37's mission, beyond it carrying some technology demonstration payloads, including materials science experiments for NASA. The ten secondary payloads on the Atlas 5 included LightSail, a cubesat developed by The Planetary Society that will deploy a small solar sail in orbit next month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list