spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Wind gust delays Delta launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 9, 2002, 9:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
Delta 2 launch A strong gust of wind in the final minute of the countdown delayed Friday's scheduled launch of a Delta 2 booster for a day. The Delta 2 was scheduled to lift off at 1:00 pm EST (1800 GMT) Friday from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, to put five replacement Iridium satellites into orbit. However, a strong gust of wind caused the booster, which is not bolted to the launch pad, to sway beyond safe limits, forcing the launch to be scrubbed at T-55 seconds. The launch has been rescheduled for 12:54 pm EST (1754 GMT) Saturday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Mo Brooks Named Founding Member of New House NASA Caucus
Yellowhammer News — 8:03 pm ET (0003 GMT)
Epic new Lego set honors the pioneering women of NASA and people are loving it
Atlanta Journal-Constitution — 8:03 pm ET (0003 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list