spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Turksat-4B
Posted: Sat, Oct 17, 2015, 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
Proton launch of Turksat-4B (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched a communications satellite for a Turkish company Saturday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 4:40 pm EDT Friday (2040 GMT Friday, 1:40 am local time Saturday) carrying the Turksat-4B satellite. The satellite deployed from the rocket's Breeze M upper stage nine hours and thirteen minutes after liftoff. The Turksat-4B satellite, built by Mitsubishi Electric for Turksat, weighed 4,900 kilograms at launch. It will operate from 50 degrees east in GEO, providing communication services with a payload of Ka-, Ku-, and C-band transponders.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list