spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches Iridium spacecraft
Posted: Mon, Feb 11, 2002, 7:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)
Delta 2 launch file photo (Boeing) On the fourth attempt in as many days, a Delta 2 rocket successfully launched five replacement Iridium satellites Monday afternoon. The booster lifted off at 12:43 pm EST (1743 GMT) from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, after launch attempts on the previous three days were scrubbed by weather and technical problems. The five satellites separated from the Delta 2's upper stage between 63 and 85 minutes after liftoff. The five satellites will be used as on-orbit spares for the existing constellation of Iridium communications satellite. The launch was the 101st for the Delta 2 and the first Delta 2 launch of the year, as well as the first US commercial launch of the year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list