spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches 73 satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
Soyuz launch of 73 satellites, July 2017 (Roscosmos) A Soyuz rocket launched a remote sensing satellite and 72 secondary payloads July 14, a record for that launch vehicle. The Soyuz lifted off at 2:36 am EDT (0636 GMT) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. Its primary payload, the Kanopus-V-IK remote sensing satellite, released from the upper stage about an hour after liftoff, and 72 smallsat secondary payloads separated over the next seven hours. Those payloads included 48 cubesats for Planet to complete its initial Earth imaging constellation, as well as spacecraft for Astro Digital, GeoOptics, and Spire. It also carried satellites for the Russian government and universities as well as several other countries. The 73 total satellites on the rocket was a record for the Soyuz, and second only to an Indian PSLV that launched more than 100 satellites in February.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 25
Australia to create national space agency
AFP — 4:30 pm ET (2030 GMT)
How Australia can play a role in the 'second space age'
Brisbane Times — 4:29 pm ET (2029 GMT)
Opinion: ULA Forced to Coexist with Commercial Space Industry
Embry-Riddle Avion — 4:28 pm ET (2028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list