spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle given tentative OK for February 28 launch
Posted: Fri, Feb 15, 2002, 8:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
STS-109 rollout of Columbia to pad 39A Shuttle managers announced Thursday that they have decided to proceed with a February 28 launch attempt for Columbia despite concerns about hydraulic systems on the orbiter. NASA completed a flight readiness review for the STS-109 launch and decided to proceed with a launch at 6:48 am EST (1148 GMT) February 28. The launch date is tentative, though, and could be delayed if engineers find problems with bolts that attach hydraulic pumps to the orbiter's three auxiliary power units. Officials are concerned that lubrication mistakenly applied to the bolts would compromise their structural integrity; an analysis on that issue is in progress. STS-109 is the first flight of Columbia since the STS-93 mission in mid-1999, the last before undergoing a two-year overhaul. The mission will also be the fourth servicing mission for the Hubble Space Telescope, with five spacewalks planned to perform extensive repairs and upgrades to the orbiting observatory.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list