spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16, 2017, 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of four Galileo satellites, Dec. 2017 (ESA) An Ariane 5 launched four Galileo satellites Tuesday, bringing the navigation system closer to completion. The Ariane 5 launched at 1:36 pm EDT (1836 GMT) from Kourou, French Guiana, and released the four satellites into medium Earth orbits several hours later. With the launch, there are now 22 Galileo satellites in orbit, although four are not currently in use. The launch was also the 11th and final mission of 2017 for Arianespace.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list