spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Contact restored with Angosat-1 after post-launch blackout
Posted: Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 9:30 AM ET (1430 GMT)
Zenit launch of Angosat-1, Dec 2017 (Roscosmos) Controllers have restored contact with the Angosat-1 communications satellite, which was unresponsive for a day after its launch Tuesday. A Zenit rocket launched the satellite from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 2:00 pm EST (1900 GMT) Tuesday and released the Russian-built satellite into geostationary transfer orbit about nine hours later. However, controllers were unable to maintain contact with the satellite shortly after its deployment, restoring communications only on Thursday. Russian sources suspect a battery issue on the satellite may have caused the loss of communications. The satellite, built by RSC Energia for the government of Angola, carries 16 C-band and 6 Ku-band transponders and will operate from 13 degrees east.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list