spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: February 19
Posted: Wed, Feb 20, 2002, 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
  • Mars may have experienced major floods as recently as 10 million years ago, University of Arizona scientists said Monday. They found evidence of floods associated with fissures in the Martian surface located near the equator. The water may be linked to geologically recent volcanic activity in the region.
  • The Moon will occult, or pass in front of, the planet Saturn as seen by observers in North America Wednesday night. Saturn will disappear for up to 90 minutes starting between 6 and 7 pm EST (2300 and 0000 GMT) for people across the continent. The occultation is considered a "prime event" by astronomers because the Moon is just past first quarter and thus not too bright to wash out the planet.
  • John Glenn will mark the 40th anniversary of his historic space flight Wednesday by talking with the crew of the International Space Station. Glenn, who became the first American to orbit the Earth on February 20, 1962, will join NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe in the conversation. Glenn is scheduled to give a speech at the National Air and Space Museum in Washington DC Wednesday evening.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list