spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 3B maiden flight a success
Posted: Thu, Feb 21, 2002, 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)
Atlas 3B launch on AC-204 mission (ILS) Lockheed Martin's Atlas 3B booster successfully carried out its maiden flight Thursday morning, launching a direct broadcasting satellite for EchoStar. The rocket lifted off from Pad 36B at Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 7:43 am EST (1243 GMT), 30 minutes later than planned because of two minor technical problems. The booster's payload, the EchoStar 7 satellite, separated from the Centaur upper stage 28 minutes after liftoff, after being placed into a geosynchronous transfer orbit. EchoStar 7, a Lockheed Martin A2100 AX spacecraft, will take over for the existing EchoStar 4 satellite and provide local television programming for customers in Alaska and Hawaii. The launch was the second for the Atlas 3 family, after the May 2000 launch of an Atlas 3A. The Atlas 3B is similar to the 3A but uses a stretched Centaur upper stage with two engines for improved performance.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list