spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
Proton launch of Yamal-601 (ILS) A Proton successfully launched a Russian communications satellite Thursday. The Proton lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 1:42 pm EDT (1742 GMT), releasing the Yamal-601 satellite into its planned transfer orbit about nine hours later. Yamal-601, built by Thales Alenia Space for Russian operator Gazprom Space Systems, weighed about 5,400 kilograms at launch and carries C- and Ka-band transponders that will provide service to Russia and neighboring regions from 49 degrees east longitude in geostationary orbit. The launch was the first this year for the Proton; the next, of the Spektr-RG astronomy satellite, is scheduled for June 21.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 17
Florida's Space Coast is booming with commercial activity
WFTV Orlando — 10:34 am ET (1434 GMT)
Northrop Grumman setting up shop inside NASA's VAB
WOFL-TV Orlando — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Unveils Its New Space Base, but No Flights Yet
Bloomberg News — 10:29 am ET (1429 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list