spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches Canadian radar imaging satellites
Posted: Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 10:12 AM ET (1412 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Radarsat Constellation Mission (SpaceX) SpaceX launched three Canadian radar imaging satellites Wednesday. The Falcon 9 lifted off on schedule from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 10:17 am EDT (1417 GMT) and deployed the three Radarsat Constellation Mission (RCM) satellites into sun-synchronous orbits an hour later. The rocket's first stage, which previously launched the company's Crew Dragon spacecraft on a test flight in March, landed back at the launch site. RCM is designed to provide improved synthetic aperture radar imagery over the existing Radarsat-2, including faster revisits. Unlike Radarsat-2, which is operated by Maxar, the Canadian government owns the full imaging capacity of the RCM constellation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 16
Galileo sat-nav system still without service
BBC — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
Europe's GPS system stops working
The Independent — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Galileo’s initial services rocky patch continues
GPS World — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list