spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle launch faces weather, technical issues
Posted: Wed, Feb 27, 2002, 7:11 AM ET (1211 GMT)
STS-109 patch (NASA) Thursday's launch of the shuttle Columbia could be threatened by weather and technical problems, shuttle managers said Tuesday. Cold weather is the primary concern: forecasts call for a launch temperature of 4 degrees C (39 degrees F), within one degree of safe limits for the launch. The exact safe limit is a function of temperature, humidity, and wind speed and direction, and so could change before launch. Meteorologists now say there is a 60 percent chance of acceptable weather, down from 70 percent on Monday. Shuttle managers are also investigating the possibility that wheel bearings in the shuttle's nose were not tested properly; managers said late Tuesday that it was too soon to tell whether those reports were valid. The launch of mission STS-109 is still planned for 6:48 am EST (1148 GMT) Thursday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list