spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Orion abort system test a success
Posted: Sun, Jul 7, 2019, 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
NASA performed a successful in-flight test of the Orion spacecraft's abort system Tuesday morning. The refurbished Peacekeeper booster motor carrying a boilerplate Orion and its launch abort system (LAS) lifted off from Cape Canaveral's Space Launch Complex 46 at 7 am EDT (1100 GMT). The LAS fired 55 seconds after liftoff, pulling the capsule away from the booster before jettisoning. NASA said immediately after the test that it appeared to go as planned, with more details about the test expected later this morning. The LAS was tested under conditions it would experience should it have to pull an Orion spacecraft away from an SLS during ascent.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches classified satellite
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:35 PM ET (2235 GMT)

ESA seeks nearly $14 billion over three years
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:34 PM ET (2234 GMT)

InSight makes progress with heat flow probe
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:33 PM ET (2233 GMT)

news links
Sunday, October 20
Getting Water From Waste In Space
Forbes.com — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Waste of Space
Los Angeles Review of Books — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
Study: Male mice can breed even after visits to outer space
Asahi Shimbun — 9:23 am ET (1323 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list