spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)
Proton launch of Spektr-RG (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched a long-delayed X-ray astronomy spacecraft Saturday. The Proton lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 8:30 a.m. EDT (1230 GMT) and released the Spektr-RG spacecraft about two hours later. The spacecraft is bound for the Earth-Sun L-2 Lagrange point, 1.5 million kilometers from Earth, and will arrive there in three months. Spektr-RG is a joint Russian-German mission to perform X-ray astronomy, whose launch had suffered extensive delays.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 24
What’s in Thailand’s New Military Space Center Launch?
The Diplomat — 7:59 am ET (1159 GMT)
Space fever
The Hindu — 7:58 am ET (1158 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list