spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Columbia launches on Hubble repair mission
Posted: Fri, Mar 1, 2002, 8:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
STS-109 launch (NASA) The space shuttle Columbia launched Friday morning on a mission to repair and upgrade the Hubble Space Telescope. Columbia lifted off on mission STS-109 at 6:22 am EST (1122 GMT) after a problem-free countdown. Launch was delayed a day because of cold temperatures forecast for Thursday; Friday was significantly warmer, and there were no other weather problems reported. Columbia is scheduled to rendezvous with Hubble early Sunday morning to begin extensive repairs and upgrades of the telescope. Five spacewalks are scheduled to replace instruments, electronics, reaction wheels, and solar panels. Columbia will return to Earth on March 12.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list