spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle captures Hubble
Posted: Sun, Mar 3, 2002, 9:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
STS-109 Columbia grapples Hubble (NASA) The space shuttle Columbia grappled the Hubble Space Telescope early Sunday and locked it in place in the shuttle's cargo bay, setting the stage for five spacewalks this week to repair the orbiting observatory. Columbia's robot arm grabbed the telescope at 4:31 am EST (0931 GMT) Sunday and maneuvered it into a rotating cradle in the shuttle's cargo bay, where it will be berthed during the repairs this week. The first EVA is scheduled to begin at 1:27 am EST (0627 GMT) Monday, when astronauts John Grunsfeld and Rick Linnehan will replace one of Hubble's solar panels with a new version that is smaller but generates more power. The other solar panel will be replaced on the second EVA early Tuesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list