spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle releases Hubble
Posted: Sat, Mar 9, 2002, 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)
STS-109 Columbia releases Hubble (NASA) The space shuttle Columbia released the Hubble Space Telescope back into orbit Saturday morning, completing a successful upgrade to the orbiting observatory. The shuttle's robot arm released Hubble from its grasp at 5:04 am EST (1004 GMT), six days after first grappling the telescope. During those six days astronauts performed five spacewalks to repair and upgrade the telescope, outfitting it with new solar panels, reaction control wheels, and power control unit. They also installed a new instrument, the Advanced Camera for Surveys, and provided an existing instrument, NICMOS, with a cooling system that may allow it to return to service. The 35 hours and 55 minutes of combined EVA time during the mission set the record for the most EVA time during a shuttle mission, breaking the old record, set by a Hubble repair mission in 1993, by a half-hour. Columbia will return to Earth Tuesday at 4:33 am EST (0933 GMT).
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list