spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Destiny lab module attached to ISS
Posted: Sat, Feb 10, 2001, 8:26 PM ET (0126 GMT)
Destiny being attached to ISS The American lab module Destiny was successfully attached to the International Space Station during a seven and a half hour spacewalk Saturday. The shuttle's robot arm, operated by astronaut Marsha Ivins, moved the module of out Atlantis' cargo bay and into position on the Unity docking node opposite the Zarya module shortly after 2 pm EST (1900 GMT). The two spacewalking astronauts, Bob Curbeam and Tom Jones, then completed heater, coolant, and electrical connections between Destiny and Unity. Before the spacewalk started at 10:50 am EST (1550 GMT), the shuttle's robot arm was used to remove a shuttle docking port on the portion of the Unity module to which Destiny would be attached; the port was stowed on the Z1 truss where it will remain temporarily before being attached to the far end of Destiny during an EVA Monday. The only problem of note reported during the EVA was when ammonia leaked from one set of coolant lines, forcing Curbeam to brush his suit of ammonia crystals and stand in the sun to boil off any remaining ammonia before reentering the shuttle. Shuttle and station crews will work this evening and Sunday to activate key systems in the lab module.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list