spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Columbia lands at KSC
Posted: Tue, Mar 12, 2002, 7:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)
STS-109 landings at KSC (NASA) The space shuttle Columbia safely landed at the Kennedy Space Center Tuesday morning. Columbia touched down at 4:32 am EST (0932 GMT) Tuesday, completing a 10-day, 22-hour mission to refurbish the Hubble Space Telescope. The mission was the first shuttle flight of 2002 and the first for Columbia since July 1999. Ground controllers are still checking out Hubble, and estimate it will take several weeks to calibrate its new Advanced Camera for Surveys and see if a new cooling system will allow scientists to use the NICMOS infrared instrument again. The next shuttle flight, STS-110, is scheduled for launch on April 4. The shuttle Atlantis and its seven-person crew will install the first segment of the International Space Station's truss on a nine-day flight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list