spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA to classify shuttle launch times
Posted: Tue, Mar 19, 2002, 10:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
STS-110 Atlantis rolls out to pad 39B (NASA/KSC) NASA will not release exact launch times for future shuttle missions until 24 hours before liftoff, the agency announced Monday. The agency will instead only provide a four-hour window for the launch: in the case of the next shuttle mission, STS-110, NASA will only say the launch is scheduled for between 2 and 6 pm EST (1900 to 2300 GMT) April 4. The move was made because of security concerns in the wake of the September 11 terrorist attacks, according to NASA officials. Exact launch times for the two previous post-September 11 shuttle missions were provided in advanced because they had already been released. The effectiveness of this policy is questionable, though, since nearly all future shuttle missions will fly to the International Space Station, and must thus lift off during relatively short launch windows that can be computed well in advance of the launch day.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list