spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress undocks from ISS, deorbits
Posted: Wed, Mar 20, 2002, 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)
Progress spacecraft on approach to ISS (NASA) A Russian Progress spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station Tuesday and burned up in the Earth's atmosphere several hours later. The Progress M1-7 spacecraft undocked from ISS at 12:43 pm EST (1743 GMT) Tuesday, filled with garbage from the station; it deorbited over the Pacific about eight hours later. After departing the Progress deployed a small satellite, Kolibri-2000. The 22-kg spacecraft, built by Russian and Australian students, will be used to study magnetic fields in orbit for several months. The undocking clears the way for the launch Thursday of a new Progress spacecraft, scheduled for 3:13 pm EST (2013 GMT) from Baikonur. The Progress will dock with the station on Sunday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list