spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches Shenzhou 3
Posted: Tue, Mar 26, 2002, 7:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
Long March 2F launch of Shenzhou 3 (Peoples Daily) After months of anticipation, China launched the third Shenzhou spacecraft, the prototype of a future manned spacecraft, on Monday. Chinese media reported that a Long March 2F booster launched Shenzhou 3 at 9:15 am EST (1415 GMT) from the Jiaquan Satellite Launching Center in northwest China. While the spacecraft is unmanned, it does have dummies on board with instrumentation to measure the effects of the launch and spacecraft conditions on people. The spacecraft's escape system was also tested during the launch, although the details of that escape system were not discussed. The duration of the flight was not released, although Western analysts expect that the descent capsule will return to Earth after about a week, while the separate orbital module may remain in orbit for several months, as was the case with the Shenzhou 2 flight in 2001. The launch had been expected for months; reports out of China indicated that the launch was planned for several months ago but delayed by technical problems encountered while upgrading the design of the spacecraft. A successful flight could pave the way for the first Chinese launch of a manned spacecraft as early as next year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceShipTwo reaches edge of space on latest test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)

Russian cosmonauts perform arduous spacewalk to inspect Soyuz
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, January 23
Is the space industry moving beyond SpaceX?
The Hill — 6:54 am ET (1154 GMT)
The UAE wants to put humans on Mars by 2117
Time Out Dubai — 6:53 am ET (1153 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list