spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA sets April 4 launch date for STS-110
Posted: Wed, Mar 27, 2002, 7:29 AM ET (1229 GMT)
STS-110 patch (NASA) Shuttle managers approved plans on Tuesday to launch the space shuttle Atlantis on a mission to the International Space Station on April 4. For security reasons NASA has elected not to disclose the exact time of launch until 24 hours beforehand, saying only that the launch will take place between 2 and 6 pm EST (1900 and 2300 GMT) April 4. However, Spaceflight Now noted that there are a number of ways to calculate a more exact time, concluding that the launch will take place at 5:16 pm EST (2216 GMT). The mission deliver to the station the first segment of the station's truss, designated S0. The truss will serve as the station's backbone and a mount for solar panels and radiators that will support future laboratory modules. Included on the S0 segment is Mobile Transporter, a rail car that will eventually be able to travel along 30 meters of the 108-meter truss, extending the reach of the station's Canadarm2 robot arm. Four spacewalks are planned for the mission. The seven-person crew of STS-110 includes Jerry Ross, who will be making his record-setting seventh space flight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 20
Tucson Tech: Small-sat launcher Vector lining up launch sites
Arizona Daily Star — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Poroshenko said that Ukraine is a space power
The Stopru — 1:49 am ET (0649 GMT)
UK to clear the way for US space rocket launches in Britain
The Daily Telegraph — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)
‘PSLV built by domestic industry by 2020’
The Hindu — 1:43 am ET (0643 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list