spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shenzhou 3 lands
Posted: Mon, Apr 1, 2002, 8:50 AM ET (1350 GMT)
Shenzhou 3 descent capsule after landing (Peoples Daily) China's Shenzhou 3 spacecraft landed successfully early Monday, Chinese officials reported. The spacecraft's descent capsule touched down in Inner Mongolia at 3:51 am EST (0851 GMT), a few hours shy of one week after its launch. A photo of the capsule, sitting upright and intact, was released within a couple hours of the landing; by comparison, no photos were released of Shenzhou 2 after landing, fueling speculation that something went wrong during its landing. Shenzhou 3's orbital module was expected to remain in orbit to conduct experiments for up to six months. While a People's Daily article quoted scientists who said that the spacecraft is "technically suitable for astronauts", the report also said that China will "launch more unmanned spacecraft until a manned spaceship takes shape."
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list