spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 2, 2002, 8:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)
Molniya launch vehicle illustration (Energia) A Russian Molniya-M launch vehicle successfully launched a military spacecraft late Monday. The rocket lifted off from Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 5:07 pm EST (2207 GMT) Monday. It placed into orbit a military satellite designated only as Kosmos 2388. The web site Orbital Report suggests that the spacecraft is an early warning satellite. The launch was scheduled for last week but was delayed for undisclosed reasons. The launch was the second in three days by a Russian booster, after a Proton launched a commercial communications satellite Saturday from Plesetsk.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list