spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-110 countdown begins
Posted: Wed, Apr 3, 2002, 9:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
STS-110 patch (NASA) The countdown for Thursday's launch of the shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-110 began on Monday, still shrouded in secrecy, NASA officials confirmed Tuesday. The news was not unexpected, since a Thursday afternoon launch would have normally required the countdown to begin on Monday. The exact launch time will be announced by NASA Wednesday afternoon, 24 hours before the launch; NASA has only said that the launch will take place between 2 and 6 pm EST (1900-2300 GMT), but outside analysts have estimated a launch time of approximately 5:15 pm EST (2215 GMT) based on the orbit of the space station. Technicians are checking the motors on a door in the shuttle's underside that closes after the external tank jettisons, but NASA officials say they are optimistic that the door will check out fine. Meteorologists are forecasting a 70 percent chance of acceptable weather Thursday afternoon. Atlantis will dock with the International Space Station and install the first segment of the station's truss.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list