spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Spacecraft reenters over Tibet
Posted: Sun, Apr 7, 2002, 1:06 PM ET (1706 GMT)
HETE spacecraft illustration (NASA) A NASA spacecraft reentered late Saturday night over southern Tibet, NASA announced Sunday morning. The High Energy Transient Experiment 1 (HETE-1) spacecraft, along with the Argentine SAC-B satellite and their Pegasus upper stage, reentered at 10:55 pm EST Saturday (0355 GMT Sunday), several hours earlier than previously reported. The reentry site was identified by NASA and the US Space Command to be 31.5 degrees north, 92.4 degrees east, which would correspond to southern Tibet. NASA estimated that only 8 kg of the 535-kg aggregation would survive reentry. The spacecraft were launched in November 1996 but failed to separate from their upper stage, preventing them from operating. NASA launched HETE-2, a replacement for HETE-1, in October 2000.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list