spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Report: teacher to be named to shuttle flight
Updated: Fri, Apr 12, 2002, 2:37 PM ET (1837 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Apr 12, 2002, 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
Barbara Morgan (NASA/JSC) Barbara Morgan, the runner up in the 1980s Teacher in Space competition, will be named to a crew of a 2004 shuttle mission to the International Space Station on Friday, CNN reports. The article on CNN's web site said that sources "familiar with the space agency" revealed that NASA administrator Sean O’Keefe will announce the assignment in a speech at Syracuse University Friday afternoon. A SPACE.com article published later Friday, though, indicated that while the agency is interested in flying Morgan on a future shuttle mission to ISS, no particular mission has been selected, and such a flight is unlikely to take place until the "core complete" portion of the station is finished after 2004. Morgan was an Idaho elementary school teacher when she was selected as the runner-up to Christa McAuliffe, who was killed in the Challenger accident in 1986. When NASA announced in 1998 that John Glenn would fly on a shuttle mission later that year, the agency also announced that Morgan would be selected to become a full-fledged astronaut candidate, eligible to be selected to future missions, although to date she had not been assigned to any.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 17
Company considers Kodiak for site of second launch pad
Alaska Public Media — 12:26 am ET (0426 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list