spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 16, 2002, 11:48 PM ET (0348 GMT)
Ariane 44L file photo (Arianespace) An Ariane 4 successfully launched a communications satellite for New Skies Satellites Tuesday evening on the 150th Ariane mission ever. The Ariane 44L, the version of the Ariane 4 with four liquid-propellant strap-on boosters, lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana at 7:02 pm EDT (2302 GMT) Tuesday. The launch was delayed by about ten minutes because of a minor technical issue. The booster placed into geostationary transfer orbit NSS-7, a Lockheed Martin A2100AX-model spacecraft. NSS-7 will be positioned at 21.5 degrees west longitude to provide video and data services for the Americas, Africa, and Europe. The spacecraft will replace the existing NSS-K spacecraft and allow another, NSS-803, to move to a different orbital slot. Tuesday's launch was the fifth for Arianespace this year. The next launch, of the SPOT 5 remote sensing satellite, is scheduled for May 3.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list