spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Last STS-110 EVA completed, shuttle ready to undock
Posted: Wed, Apr 17, 2002, 10:11 AM ET (1411 GMT)
STS-110 EVA #4 (NASA) Two astronauts wrapped up the fourth and final spacewalk of the STS-110 mission Tuesday, the last major task before the shuttle Atlantis undocks from the station Wednesday afternoon. Astronauts Jerry Ross and Lee Morin spent six hours and 37 minutes outside the station, completing a variety of tasks including the installation of a ladder between the Quest airlock and the new S0 truss segment. The astronauts also tested latches on the truss that will be used to connect future truss segments, installed floodlights on the Destiny and Unity modules, and installed shock absorbers on the Mobile Transporter railcar, among other tasks. The spacewalk was the ninth of Ross's career, giving him a total of 58 hours and 18 minutes of EVA time, second among all space travelers to Anatoly Solovyev. The successful spacewalk clears the way for the shuttle Atlantis to undock from the station at 2:31 pm EDT (1831 GMT) Wednesday, one week after the orbiter docked. Atlantis is scheduled to return to Earth on Friday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 19
Spacecom returns to SpaceX to launch 2 satellites
Globes Online — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Space: Marketing's Final Frontier
AdAge.com — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
US and Luxembourg frame laws for new space race
Financial Times — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list