spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew moves Soyuz to new docking port
Posted: Sat, Apr 20, 2002, 12:42 PM ET (1642 GMT)
Soyuz TM-31 docked at ISS The three-man Expedition Four crew briefly left the International Space Station early Saturday, flying a Soyuz spacecraft to a new docking port on the station in preparation for the arrival of another Soyuz. Commander Yuri Onufrienko and crew members Carl Walz and Dan Bursch boarded the Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft which undocked from the nadir docking port on the Zarya module at 5:16 am EDT (0916 GMT). The spacecraft backed away about 100 meters from the station before moving over slightly and docking with the Pirs airlock module at 5:37 am EDT (0937 GMT). The maneuver frees up the Zarya port for the arrival of Soyuz TM-34 on April 27. The taxi crew that will fly TM-34 to the station will return to Earth on TM-33, which is nearing the end of its six-month design life in space.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list