spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches with space tourist Shuttleworth
Posted: Thu, Apr 25, 2002, 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Soyuz rocket carrying three people, including space tourist Mark Shuttleworth, lifted off early Thursday on a flight to the International Space Station. The Soyuz rocket lifted off from Baikonur at 2:26 am EDT (0626 GMT) and placed the Soyuz TM-34 spacecraft into orbit nine minutes later. On board the Soyuz are mission commander Yuri Gizdenko, ESA astronaut Roberto Vittori, and Shuttleworth, the second commercial space tourist. The launch took place nearly a year to the day after another Soyuz launched the first commercial space tourist, American businessman Dennis Tito. The spacecraft is scheduled to dock with the International Space Station Saturday at 3:57 am EDT (0757 GMT). The taxi crew will remain on the station for a week before departing in the Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft current docked to ISS, leaving the newer Soyuz to remain at the station as a lifeboat for the Expedition Four crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
Every 202,500 Years, Earth Wanders in a New Direction
New York Times — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Alien Asteroids Are Here, Scientists Say. Get Used to Them.
New York Times — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)
Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft to ISS
Space News — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list