spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sat, Apr 27, 2002, 11:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
Mark Shuttleworth enters ISS (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three people, including space tourist Mark Shuttleworth, docked with the International Space Station early Saturday. The Soyuz TM-34 spacecraft docked with Zarya module of ISS at 3:56 am EDT (0756 GMT), and hatches between the station and Soyuz opened about 90 minutes later. Shuttleworth and crewmates Yuri Gidzenko and Roberto Vittori will spend a week on the station, joining the three-man Expedition Four crew. Shuttleworth, the second commercial space tourist and the first South African in space, plans to spend his time on the station performing a number of experiments developed by South African students. The flight is Gidzenko's second stay on the station: he was also a member of the original Expedition One crew. The taxi mission crew will leave the station on May 4 on the Soyuz TM-33 that has been docked to ISS for the last six months, leaving the new TM-34 spacecraft behind as a lifeboat for the station crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list