spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches SPOT 5 satellite
Posted: Sat, May 4, 2002, 1:41 AM ET (0541 GMT)
SPOT 5 illustration (CNES) An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched the French SPOT 5 remote sensing satellite Friday night. The Ariane 42P, the version of the Ariane 4 that uses two solid-propellant strap-on boosters, lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 9:31 pm EDT Friday (0131 GMT Saturday). The spacecraft separated from the booster 20 minutes after liftoff, after being placed into a 810-km Sun-synchronous orbit. SPOT 5, built by Astrium, is the latest generation of remote sensing satellites operated by French company SPOT Image for the French space agency CNES. The spacecraft will provide color images with resolutions of 10 meters and black and white images of 2.5 meters resolution.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list