spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches two satellites
Posted: Wed, May 15, 2002, 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
Long March 4B launch (Xinhua) A Chinese Long March booster launched a weather satellite and marine surveying spacecraft Wednesday. The Long March 4B booster lifted off from the Taiyuan launch center in northern China at 9:50 pm EDT Tuesday (0150 GMT, 9:50 am local time Wednesday). It placed into Sun-synchronous orbits the Feng Yun 1D (FY-1D) meteorological satellite and the Haiyang-1 marine surveying satellite. FY-1D is the first of five weather satellites China plans to launch before the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing. The launch was not widely announced prior to an article published Tuesday by the English-language newspaper China Daily. The launch is the second of the year for China, after a Long March 2F booster launched the Shenzhou 3 spacecraft in late March.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list