spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays shuttle launch
Posted: Thu, May 30, 2002, 8:49 PM ET (0049 GMT)
STS-111 patch (NASA) Threatening weather forced NASA shuttle managers to scrub Thursday's night scheduled launch of Endeavour by one day. Endeavour was scheduled to lift off at 7:44 pm EDT (2344 GMT), but anvil clouds in the vicinity of the launch site led NASA to scrub the launch 23 minutes before the scheduled liftoff time. The launch of STS-111 has been rescheduled for Friday at 7:22 pm EDT (2322 GMT), although weather will again be a concern. During the countdown Thursday evening engineers did notice a problem with a pressure regulator with the shuttle's Orbital Maneuvering System, but the problem was corrected and would not have prevented the launch. Endeavour is scheduled to perform a 12-day mission to exchange long-term crews on the station, as well as install a mobile base system for the railcar on the station's new truss segment and fix a joint problem with the station's robotic arm.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 19
NOAA's Latest Advanced Weather Satellite Launches
Aviation Week — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Perfect Countdown and Liftoff for JPSS-1
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Saturday morning launch at Vandenberg a success
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:51 am ET (0751 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list