spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Valve replacement to delay shuttle launch until Wednesday
Updated: Sun, Jun 2, 2002, 7:35 PM ET (2335 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Jun 1, 2002, 3:30 PM ET (1930 GMT)
STS-111 patch (NASA) The launch of the shuttle Endeavour will be delayed until Wednesday to replace a faulty valve with the orbiter's propulsion system, NASA announced this weekend. Shuttle managers decided to replace a leaking nitrogen valve in the port side Orbital Maneuvering System pod. It is the same valve that engineers noticed a problem with during Thursday's countdown, but eventually cleared for flight; that launch attempt was eventually scrubbed by weather. NASA had hoped to complete the repairs in time to make a launch attempt Tuesday, but decided on Sunday to wait until Wednesday because the repairs were taking longer than planned. The launch, originally scheduled for May 30, was delayed Thursday and Friday because of inclement weather.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list