spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Endeavour docks with station
Posted: Fri, Jun 7, 2002, 6:30 PM ET (2230 GMT)
STS-111 patch (NASA) The space shuttle Endeavour successfully docked with the International Space Station Friday afternoon despite some minor post-docking problems. The shuttle docked with the station at 12:25 pm EDT (1625 GMT), slightly behind schedule as the shuttle approached the station a bit more slowly than planned. Post-docking work was delayed by about an hour when oscillations between the shuttle and station did not damp out as expected, requiring the shuttle crew to realign the docking ring before completing a hard seal with the station. Hatches between the station and shuttle opened at around 3:30 pm EDT (1930 GMT). Endeavour will remain docked with the station until Saturday, June 15. The first order of business after docking will be to exchange supplies and equipment, including the custom-fitted seat liners for the Soyuz capsule as the station's new Expedition Five crew relieves the Expedition Four crew. The first EVA of three scheduled for the STS-111 mission is planned for Sunday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
Every 202,500 Years, Earth Wanders in a New Direction
New York Times — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Alien Asteroids Are Here, Scientists Say. Get Used to Them.
New York Times — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)
Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft to ISS
Space News — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list