spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays shuttle landing
Posted: Mon, Jun 17, 2002, 1:26 PM ET (1726 GMT)
STS-111 patch (NASA) NASA postponed the landing of the shuttle Endeavour by 24 hours on Monday because of poor weather conditions in Florida. Endeavour had been scheduled to touch down at the Kennedy Space Center at 12:59 pm EDT (1659 GMT), but was waved off late Monday morning because of the threat of clouds, wind, and rain at the landing site. A second landing opportunity was also available later in the afternoon, but weather conditions were expected to worsen by then, so NASA elected to keep the shuttle in orbit until Tuesday. Landing opportunities are available Tuesday at 11:56 am and 1:32 pm EDT (1556 and 1732 GMT), although the weather is still forecast to be poor at KSC. NASA may decide to active the backup landing site at Edwards Air Force Base in California, where weather is not a concern, should prospects for a Florida landing diminish. Endeavour does have enough supplies to remain in orbit until Thursday, and NASA would like to land the shuttle in Florida to avoid the delays transporting the orbiter from California, which could push back Endeavour's next flight, scheduled for early October, until November.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list