spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: June 18
Posted: Wed, Jun 19, 2002, 7:08 AM ET (1108 GMT)
  • TRW announced late Tuesday night that it was selling its aeronautical systems division to Goodrich for $1.5 billion in cash. The sale, rumors of which were first reported Monday by the Wall Street Journal, is seen by analysts as part of an effort to streamline the company to its aerospace and defense core in preparation for an eventual acquisition.
  • The launch of two Iridium satellites on a Rockot booster has been delayed one day due to technical problems, RIA Novosti reported Tuesday. The launch has been rescheduled for 5:33 am EDT (0933 GMT) Thursday, June 20. The booster will launch the final two Iridium satellites, which will serve as on-orbit spares.
  • French astronaut Claudie Haigneré has been appointed to the post of Minister for Research and New Technologies in the French government, ESA announced Tuesday. She flew on two Soyuz missions, to Mir in 1996 and ISS in 2001, after being selected as an astronaut by the French space agency CNES in 1985. "This appointment honors the European Space Agency and puts Mrs. Haigneré in a key position to shape the future of Europe's science and technology," said ESA director general Antonio Rodotà.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, November 14
Campus to honor Apollo 8
Tarrant County College District Collegian — 5:17 am ET (1017 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list