spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Endeavour diverted to California
Posted: Wed, Jun 19, 2002, 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)
STS-111 patch (NASA) Poor weather for the third consecutive day in Florida has led NASA to try a landing of the shuttle Endeavour in California this afternoon instead. NASA had hoped to bring the shuttle down during one of two landing opportunities at the Kennedy Space Center, but thickening clouds and the threat of showers forced managers to wave off those two landing attempts. NASA is now targeting a landing at Edwards Air Force Base, California, at 1:58 pm EDT (1758 GMT). Weather conditions there are reported to be acceptable. NASA made every effort to land the shuttle in Florida to avoid processing delays associated with a California landing that could delay Endeavour's next mission, currently scheduled for early October.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list