spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launch delayed
Updated: Sat, Jun 22, 2002, 6:25 PM ET (2225 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Jun 22, 2002, 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)
EchoStar 8 launch poster (ILS) The launch of an American direct broadcasting satellite on a Russian Proton booster has been delayed at least 24 hours, according to reports published Saturday morning. The Proton-K was scheduled to lift off from Baikonur at 1:15 am EDT (0515 GMT) Saturday and place into orbit the EchoStar 8 direct broadcasting satellite. However, late Friday night ILS reported that the launch had been delayed because of an unspecified problem with the spacecraft, which later turned out to be a problem with a command receiver on the spacecraft. While the Russian news agency RIA Novosti said Saturday that the launch had been rescheduled for Sunday, June 23, an EchoStar press release issued later Saturday gave no specific date for a new launch attempt, saying that the launch would take place after spacecraft testing is complete and pending availability of the Baikonur launch site. The launch will be the fourth this year for the Proton, and the third commercial Proton flight for International Launch Services. A Proton launched on a Russian government mission June 10.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list