spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Titan 2 launches weather satellite
Posted: Mon, Jun 24, 2002, 8:05 PM ET (0005 GMT)
Titan 2 launch (USAF file photo) A Titan 2 booster successfully launched a weather satellite Monday afternoon. The Titan 2 lifted off from Space Launch Complex 4 at Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, on schedule at 2:23 pm EDT (1823 GMT). The booster placed the NOAA-M weather satellite into an 830-kilometer sun-synchronous polar orbit. NOAA-M, to be renamed NOAA-17 in the near future, is the third of five Polar Orbiting Environmental Satellites (POES) that will provide weather data from polar orbits over the next 10 years, complementing data provided by the GOES series of satellites in geosynchronous orbit. Monday's flight was the eleventh launch from a group of Titan 2 boosters that have been converted from ICBMs to launch vehicles, and the first since September 2000. Two remaining Titan 2 boosters are scheduled for launch late this year and in early 2003.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list