spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches Chandryaan-2 lunar mission
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:16 AM ET (1416 GMT)
India successfully launched its Chandrayaan-2 lunar mission this morning. The GSLV Mark 3 rocket lifted off at 5:13 am EDT (0913 GMT) Monday...

Tiangong-2 module reenters
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
China's Tiangong-2 module reentered over the South Pacific July 19 as planned. Tiangong-2 reentered over the South Pacific Ocean Uninhabited Area at...

Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)
Europe's Galileo satellite navigation system is back in service after an extended outage. The European Global Navigation Satellite Systems Agency said Thursday that it...

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)
NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine says he won't rule out a first human mission to Mars in 2033. Bridenstine said in a call with reporters...

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
SpaceX said Monday that an accident in April that destroyed a Crew Dragon spacecraft during ground tests was caused by a faulty valve. The ongoing...

Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)
A Proton rocket successfully launched a long-delayed X-ray astronomy spacecraft Saturday. The Proton lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 8:30 a....

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)
A Vega rocket carrying an Emirati satellite failed minutes after liftoff Wednesday night. The Vega rocket lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 9:53...

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)
NASA shook up the leadership of its exploration program Wednesday evening, reassigning two top officials. In a memo, NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine said that Bill...

Virgin Orbit performs LauncherOne drop test
Posted: Sat, Jul 13 8:03 PM ET (0003 GMT)
Virgin Orbit performed a successful drop test of its LauncherOne rocket Wednesday. A full-sized but inert version of the rocket was released from the...

Virgin Galactic to go public in merger with investment company
Posted: Sat, Jul 13 8:01 PM ET (0001 GMT)
Virgin Galactic announced a deal early Tuesday to merge with an investment company, raising several hundred million. Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. will take a...



news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list