spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts complete first AMS repair spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Nov 17 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
Two astronauts performed the first in a series of spacewalks Friday to repair an International Space Station instrument. Andrew Morgan and Luca Parmitano started the...

NASA inspector general report criticizes additional Boeing commercial crew payments
Posted: Sun, Nov 17 9:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)
A report Thursday by NASA's Office of Inspector General (OIG) criticized additional payments made to Boeing for commercial crew work. The report said that...

LeoSat suspends operations
Posted: Sun, Nov 17 9:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)
Broadband satellite constellation startup LeoSat has suspended operations. Mark Rigolle, CEO of LeoSat, said the company laid off its 13 employees after earlier investors Hispasat...

China performs back-to-back launches
Posted: Fri, Nov 15 5:28 PM ET (2228 GMT)
China carried out back-to-back launches of two small launch vehicles Wednesday. The Kuaizhou-1A rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center...

BlackSky secures $50 million loan from Intelsat
Posted: Fri, Nov 15 5:27 PM ET (2227 GMT)
BlackSky announced Tuesday it has secured a $50 million loan from Intelsat for its geospatial data system. BlackSky said the Intelsat funding will finance its...

SpaceX launches second set of Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 15 5:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched its second set of Starlink satellites Monday while setting new reusability milestones. The company's Falcon 9 rocket lifted off from Cape...

Boeing says Starliner pad abort test a success despite parachute anomaly
Posted: Sun, Nov 10 8:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
Boeing says a misplaced pin prevented one of three parachutes from deploying during a pad abort test of its CST-100 Starliner commercial crew vehicle...

Senate introduces NASA authorization bill
Posted: Sun, Nov 10 7:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)
A bipartisan group of senators introduced a NASA authorization bill Wednesday that would extend the life of the International Space Station. The bill, whose lead...

Boeing offers SLS-launched lunar lander for NASA
Posted: Sun, Nov 10 7:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
Boeing announced Tuesday it's proposing a lunar lander for NASA that could be launched on the Space Launch System. The company's "Fewest Steps...

UK Space Agency to fund spaceport improvements for Virgin Orbit
Posted: Sun, Nov 10 7:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)
The UK Space Agency will provide £7.35 million ($9.5 million) to fund improvements at a British airport that seeks to host Virgin Orbit...



news in brief
Starship prototype damaged in tanking test
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 10:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)

NASA adds five companies to CLPS program
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

FCC to hold public auction of satellite C-band spectrum
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 10:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 7
Re-entry step towards re-use
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 8:34 am ET (1334 GMT)
Is Boeing's mega space rocket back on track?
POLITICO — 8:33 am ET (1333 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list