spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA ends Ingenuity mission after hard landing
Posted: Sun, Jan 28 8:55 AM ET (1355 GMT)
NASA has ended the mission of the Ingenuity Mars helicopter after it was damaged on its latest flight. NASA announced Thursday that Ingenuity suffered damage...

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, Jan 27 10:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
SpaceX launched a set of Starlink satellites Tuesday after several days of delays. A Falcon 9 lifted off from Vandenberg Space Force Base in California...

Belgium signs Artemis Accords
Posted: Sat, Jan 27 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)
Belgium is the latest country to sign the Artemis Accords. Belgian government ministers signed the Accords in a ceremony Tuesday on the sidelines of the...

Kinetica-1 rocket launches five imaging satellites
Posted: Sat, Jan 27 9:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
A Chinese commercial rocket launched five satellites Monday night. The Lijian-1, or Kinetica-1, solid-fuel rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch...

Iran launches satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 27 9:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)
Iran launched a satellite Jan. 20 in a demonstration of its missile technologies. A Qaem 100 rocket lifted off around 1:30 am EST (0630...

SLIM lands on Moon but loses power
Posted: Sat, Jan 27 9:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)
A Japanese spacecraft landed on the moon Jan. 19 but lost power hours later. The Smart Lander for Investigating Moon (SLIM) lander touched down at...

SpaceX launches third Axiom Space mission to ISS
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 11:29 AM ET (1629 GMT)
Axiom Space's third private astronaut mission is on its way to the International Space Station after a launch Thursday. A Falcon 9 lifted off...

Peregrine lunar lander reenters
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 11:27 AM ET (1627 GMT)
Astrobotic said its Peregrine lunar lander safety reentered Thursday. The company announced it lost telemetry with the spacecraft at 3:50 p.m. Eastern, about...

China launches cargo spacecraft to Tiangong space station
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 11:25 AM ET (1625 GMT)
China launched a cargo spacecraft to its Tiangong space station Wednesday. A Long March 7 spacecraft lifted off from the Wenchang Satellite Launch Center at...

SDA awards $2.5 billion in contracts for missile-warning satellites
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 11:24 AM ET (1624 GMT)
The Space Development Agency (SDA) has awarded $2.5 billion in contracts to three companies for missile-tracking satellites. SDA announced Tuesday it selected L3Harris,...



news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list